Out of the Black Land

Front Cover
Poisoned Pen Press, Feb 5, 2013 - Fiction - 464 pages
2 Reviews

Meet Detective David Gold. He's a third generation native of hardscrabble South Chicago. He's also one of Chicago's most decorated homicide detectives.
Meet Gold's new partner, Detective A.C. Battle. He's a native of Mississippi whose family moved to Chicago to escape the Jim Crow South. He grew up in the Robert Taylor Homes, the penal colony of high rises across the Dan Ryan Expressway from Mayor Daley's house and Comiskey Park.
Here's their first challenge. More than a decade after 9/11, someone is setting off fire bombs in Chicago using untraceable cell phones. An unknown group takes credit for the bombings and demands the release of Hassan Al-Shahid, a University of Chicago graduate student whose plan to set off a bomb at the Art Institute was thwarted at the last minute by Gold and his long-time partner, Paul Liszewski. Their heroic efforts had cost Liszewski his life and put Gold in the hospital.
Shocked and grieving, Gold rallies to receive a Medal of Valor on the steps of that same Art Institute. During the ceremony, a car bomb explodes across the street and moment later Gold receives a text: "It isn't over."
The FBI and Homeland Security believe the new bomber is a "lone wolf' –a freelancer who operates off the grid. That makes him even more dangerous. More car bombs are detonated at the Wrigley Field El station, Millennium Park, the Museum of Science and Industry, O'Hare Airport, the Hyde Park train station, and the upscale Rush Street area near North Michigan Avenue. The bomber has shut down a major US city. Just to free Al-Shahid?
Gold and Battle hunt him across Chicago's colorful neighborhoods: from the high rises of the Magnificent Mile to century-old churches where mass is still celebrated in Polish to the ivy-covered buildings at the University of Chicago to crumbling old synagogues and gritty seafood shacks next to the ghostly expanses of vacant land where the steel mills once stood. A third-generation native of Chicago's Southeast side, bestselling author Sheldon Siegel starts a new series with The Terrorist Next Door sure to appeal to readers of Michael Connelly, John Sandford, and Sara Paretsky.


What people are saying - Write a review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - ritaer - LibraryThing

Not exactly sure why this book was shelved with mysteries as the only major deaths occur almost at the end and the question of who killed Tutankamen is answered almost as soon as it is asked. Author ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - amandacb - LibraryThing

I love anything Egyptology and Egypt-related, and so I was interested to read this highly fictionalized account of my favorite dynasty, the 18th dynasty and the sensationalized reign of Akhenaten. The ... Read full review

About the author (2013)

Sheldon Siegel is the New York Times best selling author of seven critically acclaimed legal thrillers featuring San Franicsco criminal defense attorneys Mike Daley and Rosie Fernandez, two of the most beloved characters in contemporary crime fiction. A third-generation native of Chicago’s Southeast Side, Sheldon earned his undergraduate degree from the University of Illinois in Champaign in 1980, and his law degree from Boalt Law School at the University of California-Berkeley in 1983. He has been in private practice in San Francisco since then, and he specializes in corporate and securities law with the San Francisco office of the international law firm of Sheppard, Mullin, Richter & Hampton LLP.
 
Sheldon began writing his first book, Special Circumstances, on a laptop computer during his daily commute on the ferry from Marin County to San Francisco. A frequent speaker and sought-after teacher, Sheldon is a San Francisco Library Literary Laureate, a member of the Board of Directors of the Northern California Chapter of the Mystery Writers of America, and an active member of the International Thriller Writers and Sisters in Crime. His work has been displayed at the Doe Library at the University of California at Berkeley, and he has been recognized as a Distinguished Alumnus of the University of Illinois and a Northern California Super Lawyer. THE TERRORIST NEXT DOOR is Sheldon’s first novel set in his hometown and featuring South Chicago homicide detectives David Gold and A.C. Battle. He is a lifelong fan of the Chicago Bears, White Sox, Bulls, and Blackhawks. He lives in the San Francisco area with his wife, Linda, and their twin sons, Alan and Stephen. He is currently working on his ninth novel. 

Bibliographic information