A woman named Damaris

Front Cover
Bethany House, 1991 - Fiction - 219 pages
8 Reviews
A moving story of a fifteen-year-old who decides she can no longer tolerate the abuse of a drinking father.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Review: A Woman Named Damaris (Women of the West #4)

User Review  - Kristin - Goodreads

This was my first and probably my last Janette Oke novel. Many of the the characters are not fully developed; random people float in to the story just to disappear again. Too much time passes between ... Read full review

Review: A Woman Named Damaris (Women of the West #4)

User Review  - Melissa - Goodreads

I enjoyed reading this book. It is a book that you can read as a stand alone book also. It's about a girl that goes on a journey to get away from her drunk abusive father. She leaves home and her mom ... Read full review


A Daring Idea

21 other sections not shown

Common terms and phrases

About the author (1991)

Janette Oke (pronounced "oak") pioneered inspirational fiction and is the leading author in the category today. Love Comes Softly, her first novel, has sold over one million copies. Janette is now the bestselling author of over 70 books, 32 of which have been translated into fourteen languages. Her books have sold over 22 million copies.

Janette receives fan mail from all over the world and answers each letter personally. She received the 1992 President's Award from the Evangelical Christian Publishers Association for her significant contribution to Christian fiction, the 1999 CBA Life Impact Award and has been awarded the Gold Medallion Award for fiction.

Janette and her husband, Edward, have four grown children and enjoy their many grandchildren. They make their home in Canada.