Lone Star Trail

Front Cover
Moody Publishers, 2011 - Fiction - 287 pages
36 Reviews

The six-book series about four generations of the Morgan family living, fighting, and thriving amidst a turbulent Texas history spanning from 1845 to 1896 begins with Lone Star Trail.  Although a series, each book can be read on its own.

Judson "Jud" Morgan's father died for Texas' freedom during the war for independence. So when the Society for the Protection of German Immigrants in Texas (the Verein) attempts to colonize a New Germany in his country, he takes a stand against them.

After Wande Fleischers' fiancé marries someone else, the young fraulein determines to make a new life for herself in Texas. With the help of Jud's sister Marion, Wande learns English and becomes a trusted friend to the entire Morgan family.

As much as Jud dislikes the immigrant invasion, he can't help admiring Wande's character. She is sweet and cheerful as she serves the Lord and all those around her. Can the rancher put aside his prejudice to forge a new future?  Through Jud and Wande, we learn the powerful lessons of forgiveness and reconciliation among a diverse community of believers.

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Review: Lone Star Trail - eBook

User Review  - Ruth Stiles - Christianbook.com

I hemmed and hawed over choosing this book. It appeared to be another one of those sappy-everything-turns-out-all-right-in-the-end-after-some-crazy-misunderstanding type of book. Well I was right that ... Read full review

Review: Lone Star Trail (Texas Trails #1)

User Review  - Joleen - Goodreads

Very clean, very moral, and sweet story. Even still, I tried to like it, but the writing just didn't cut it for me. Too many little unimportant mini-stories within the book seemed to be page fillers ... Read full review

About the author (2011)

DARLENE FRANKLIN is the author of fourteen contracted books and novellas as well as several hundred short pieces. Two of her books have been finalists in ACFW's Book of the year contest: Dressed in Scarlet and A String of Murders. Darlene lives in Oklahoma near her son's family. Visit her website www.darlenefranklinwrites.blogspot.com for information on upcoming titles.

Bibliographic information