100 Wicked Little Witch Stories

Front Cover
Stefan R. Dziemianowicz, Robert A. Weinberg, Martin Harry Greenberg
Sterling, 2003 - Fiction - 610 pages
2 Reviews
The witches who populate these 100 delightfully scary stories include practitioners of white witchcraft and devotees of black magic. Most are female, some are male, and a few are thoroughly unclassifiable. They can be born witches or made witches, and may mix simple love potions or volatile concoctions that threaten all we hold dear. Some resent not receiving the treatment they feel they deserve from lesser mortals; yet other witches don't even realize that they wield any special influence at all. The many writers who take on this ever-fascinating character (so fundamentally human unlike her more paranormal, ghostly brethren) include Juleen Brantingham ("Burning in the Light"), Joe R. Landsdale ("By the Hair of the Head"), Simon McCaffery ("Blood Mary"), Terry Campbell ("Retrocurses"), Lawrence Shimel ("Coming Out of the Broom Closet"), and a coven of others.

What people are saying - Write a review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - vegaheim - LibraryThing

wicked little stories indeed! and short. quick read, couldn't put it down. some stories were very surprising (scarily so) and some just made me guffaw out loud because i didn't see it coming. some are ... Read full review

100 Wicked Little Witch Stories (100 Stories)

User Review  - Not Available - Book Verdict

The short story has long been a staple format for tales of the supernatural, which often rely on sudden shock, eerie plot twists, and surprise endings for effect. In 100 Ghastly Little Ghost ... Read full review

Other editions - View all

About the author (2003)

Martin H. Greenberg was born in 1942. He received a doctorate in Political Science in 1969 and was a professor of political science at the University of Wisconsin until 1995. Over the course of his long and prolific career, Greenberg has published around 1000 anthologies and has worked with numerous best-selling authors including Isaac Asimov, Tom Clancy, Stephen King, Anne McCaffrey, Sue Grafton, Scott Turow and Dean Koontz. He has won numerous awards including the Horror Guild Award in 1994, the Deathrealm Award in 1996, the Bram Stoker Award in 1998, and the Prometheus Special Award in 2005. He also received The Ellery Queen Award for lifetime achievement in mystery editing and the Milford Award for lifetime achievement in science fiction editing.

Bibliographic information