Front Cover
Forge/Tor, 1996 - Fiction - 445 pages
4 Reviews
It was a glorious war and a magnificent age...An age that would decide whether America would grow into a vast global power, sweeping all the way to the Pacific or be broken, its divided pieces remaining small adjuncts to a mighty England. A war that would claim the breadth of the continent for America or cede that vast expanse to England and Spain.
Among the many men and women who would forge the future of our young nation's destiny were: James and Dolley Madison - Together they face the ultimate presidential decision: Should they take the nation into a war for which it isn't prepared? Andrew and Rachel Jackson - They speak for the West, for the frontier drive. Their enduring marriage gives Jackson the fortitude to dominate history in the battle that will determine our nation's future. Winfield Scott - The young soldier who takes us headlong into the battle that will define American Army professionalism for all time. Sally McQuirk - The daughter of a Washington publisher who is determined to cover the war as a journalist.
In their lives and loves, their hopes and fears, we live the thirty months of the war that shaped American destiny.

What people are saying - Write a review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - DWWilkin - LibraryThing

Having finished this, one can only think that reading the end of the story is much like the Battle of New Orleans and the end of the war. It was already over when the Battle took place. We had so many ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - Neilsantos - LibraryThing

This was great. A nice bit of time I knew very little about, I learned who Dolley Madison was (other than being the Zingers lady) Looking for others by Nevin, he's my new Shara. Read full review

About the author (1996)

David Nevin has spent more than twenty years researching and writing "The American Story," a series of novels dealing with the history of the United States from 1800-1860. He is the author of the" New York Times" bestselling "Dream West,"" 1812," "Eagle's Cry" and "Treason,"

Bibliographic information