The Later Works, 1925-1953: 1938-1939

Front Cover
Southern Illinois University Press, 1988 - Philosophy - 616 pages
0 Reviews

This volume includes all Dewey's writings for 1938 except for Logic: The Theory of Inquiry (Volume 12 of The Later Works), as well as his 1939 Freedom and Culture, Theory of Valuation, and two items from Intelligence in the Modern World.


Freedom and Culture presents, as Steven M. Cahn points out, ?the essence of his philosophical position: a commitment to a free society, critical intelligence, and the education required for their advance.”

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.


Traditional vs Progressive Education
The Need of a Theory of Experience

28 other sections not shown

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

References to this book

All Book Search results »

About the author (1988)

Steven M. Cahn is Professor of Philosophy and Provost in the Graduate School of the City University of New York. His most recent book is Saints and Scamps: Ethics in Academia.


Jo Ann Boydston is Distinguished Professor at Southern Illinois University at Carbondale and Director of the Center for Dewey Studies.


Barbara Levine is a staff member of the Center.

Bibliographic information