63, dream palace: selected stories, 1956-1987

Front Cover
Black Sparrow Press, 1991 - Fiction - 352 pages
0 Reviews

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

63, dream palace: selected stories, 1956-1987

User Review  - Not Available - Book Verdict

In most of these pieces (26 stories and one novella), Purdy fashions empty spaces and allows us to hear the plaintive noises that reverberate through them. Among rich and poor, urban and rural ... Read full review


Color of Darkness
You May Safely Gaze

12 other sections not shown

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (1991)

James Purdy was born in Ohio in 1923. After serving in the Army, he attended the University of Puebla in Mexico before receiving an M.A. in Romance languages at the University of Chicago and spending some time at the University of Madrid. He taught at Lawrence College in Appleton, Wisconsin from 1949 to 1953. During his lifetime he wrote about 20 novels as well as numerous short stories and plays. Some of his best-known works include the following: Color of Darkness (1957), Malcolm (1959), The Nephew (1960), Cabot Wright Begins (1964), I Am Elijah Thrush (1972), In a Shallow Grave (1976), and Narrow Rooms (1977). He also wrote the Sleepers in Moon-Crowned Valleys trilogy, which comprised of Jeremy's Version (1970), The House of the Solitary Maggot (1974), and Mourners Below (1981). He died on March 13, 2009 at the age of 94.

Bibliographic information