A Certain Summer

Front Cover
Simon and Schuster, May 21, 2013 - Fiction - 336 pages
4 Reviews
A richly evocative debut novel set in an exclusive summer colony along the east coast during the aftermath of World War II—for fans of Kate Morton and Jamie Ford.

"Nothing ever changes at Wauregan.” That mystique is the tradition of the idyllic island colony off the shore of Long Island, the comforting tradition that its summer dwellers have lived by for over half a century. But in the summer of 1948, after a world war has claimed countless men—even those who came home—the time has come to deal with history’s indelible scars.

Helen Wadsworth’s husband, Arthur, was declared missing in action during an OSS operation in France, but the official explanation was mysteriously nebulous. Now raising a teenage son who longs to know the truth about his father, Helen turns to Frank Hartman—her husband’s best friend and his partner on the mission when he disappeared. Frank, however, seems more intent on filling the void in Helen’s life that Arthur’s absence has left. As Helen’s affection for Frank grows, so does her guilt, especially when Peter Gavin, a handsome Marine who was brutally tortured by the Japanese and has returned with a faithful war dog, unexpectedly stirs new desires. With her heart pulled in multiple directions, Helen doesn’t know whom to trust—especially when a shocking discovery forever alters her perception of both love and war.

Part mystery, part love story, and part insider’s view of a very private world, A Certain Summer resonates in the heart long after the last page is turned.
 

What people are saying - Write a review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - grumpydan - LibraryThing

Set on the small island of Wauregan right after WWII, Helen Wadsworth prays that her husband is still alive as he was declared MIA during a secret mission in occupied France. She has a son to take ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - Tea58 - LibraryThing

After closing the last page of A CERTAIN SUMMER by PATRICIA BEARD, I had a strong desire to learn more about World War II. When I ask myself why this desire to gain more knowledge about a war is so ... Read full review

All 4 reviews »

Selected pages

Contents

Section 1
1
Section 2
13
Section 3
26
Section 4
37
Section 5
50
Section 6
63
Section 7
74
Section 8
86
Section 14
165
Section 15
182
Section 16
199
Section 17
211
Section 18
223
Section 19
230
Section 20
247
Section 21
256

Section 9
97
Section 10
106
Section 11
126
Section 12
135
Section 13
150
Section 22
270
Section 23
281
Section 24
293
Section 25
305
Copyright

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2013)

Patricia Beard is the author of nine nonfiction books and hundreds of nationally published magazine articles. She is the former features editor of Town & Country, former editor-at-large of Elle, and the former style features editor of Mirabella magazine. Beard is also the founder and president of Willowbrook Partners, LLC, for which she writes, oversees the design, and produces privately commissioned books.

Bibliographic information