A Conspiracy of Friends

Front Cover
Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group, Jun 12, 2012 - Fiction - 240 pages
18 Reviews


In the Corduroy Mansions series of novels, set in London’s hip Pimlico neighborhood, we meet a cast of charming eccentrics, including perhaps the world’s most clever terrier, who make their home in a handsome, though slightly dilapidated, apartment block. 

It seems the universe itself is conspiring against the residents of Corduroy Mansions, as they all find themselves struggling with their nearest and dearest. Oedipus Snark’s mother, Berthea, is still at work on her scathing biography of her son—the only loathsome Liberal Democrat Member of Parliament; literary agents Rupert Porter and Barbara Ragg are still battling each other for first crack at the manuscript of Autobiography of a Yeti; fine arts graduate Caroline Jarvis is busy exploring the blurry line between friendship and romance; and William French is still worrying that his son, Eddie, may never leave home, even though Eddie’s got a new wealthy girlfriend. But uppermost in everyone’s mind is William’s faithful terrier, Freddie de la Hay—without a doubt the only dog clever enough to have been recruited by MI6—who has disappeared while on a mystery tour around the Suffolk countryside. Will Freddie find his way back to Pimlico? Is Corduroy Mansions starting to crumble?
Readers will be captivated once again by McCall Smith’s genius for storytelling, his insight into his beautifully crafted characters and his eye for the quirky details of modern life.

From the Hardcover edition.

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - jack2410 - LibraryThing

Light reading. Just what I needed at this time. Read now all three books in the Corduroy Mansions series, which are all light reading. I like the interlaced commentary on today's less caring society. Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - 4leschats - LibraryThing

The denizens of Corduroy Mansion once again find themselves in interesting situations. William goes to visit his friends Geoffrey and Maggie, only to have Maggie announce her love for him. In the ... Read full review


1 The Only Unpleasant Liberal Democrat
2 Nothing Can Be EverythingEverything Can Be Nothing
3 The Moment of Realisation
4 In a Spirit of Failure
5 The Wali of Swat Etc
6 Eddies Weltanschauung
7 The Windward Islands
8 A Designer with an Eye
38 In the Cupboard
39 Burundanga
40 Hughs Confession
41 On Board Ship
42 Freddies Rescuer
43 Loving What You Cant Have
44 The Dreams of Freddie de la Hay
45 More Risotto

9 Cosmo Speaks
10 More About Boys
11 Hes My Friend
12 The Mothers Take Action
13 A Literary Agent
14 Justice and Her Colleague Nemesis
15 A Suppressed Memory
16 Her Own Decision
17 The Friendship of Dogs
18 Old Friends
19 Moral Meaning and Iris Murdoch
20 Ruperts Disclosure
21 On Who We Really Are
22 Coffee with George
23 A Walk in the Country
24 Things That Didnt Happen
25 Where Is Freddie de la Hay?
26 Ronald Telephones
27 Ronalds Interview
28 Honesty Is Sometimes the Best Policy
29 Ronald Talks with His Eyes in the Underground
30 Terence Moongrove Issues
31 Lennie Marchbanks Utters a Warning
32 Oily Deposits
33 Youre My Brother and Im Proud of You
34 The Leporine Challenge
35 Freddie Digs His Way Out of a Hole
36 An Unrevealed Source
37 Barbara Ragg Speaks to Hugh
46 In Helping Hands
47 Ronald Shows What Hes Made of
48 The Effects of Gravity
49 Vertical Takeoff
50 Just a Gigolo
51 In the Bag
52 Cosmo Bartonette Arrives
53 The Real Man Within
54 Out of Left Field
55 Marcias Idea
56 Freddie de la Hays New Life
57 Risotto at Last
58 Responsibility for What We Do
59 Et Tu Rupert
60 Oedipus Encounters the New Rules
61 Big Science Calls
62 In the Collider
63 Mariology Etc
64 Dogs Models Familiarity
65 A Generous Gesture
66 Team Moongrove
67 A Phone Call from Switzerland
68 At the Drinks Party
69 The Yeti on the Line
70 Shadows in the Cave
About the Author

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2012)

Alexander McCall Smith is also the author of the No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency series, the Isabel Dalhousie series, the Portuguese Irregular Verbs series and the 44 Scotland Street series. He is professor emeritus of medical law at the University of Edinburgh in Scotland and has served with many national and international organizations concerned with bioethics. He lives in Scotland. Visit him at www.alexandermccallsmith.com.

From the Hardcover edition.

Bibliographic information