A Corpse in Shining Armour

Front Cover
HarperCollins UK, Jun 25, 2009 - Fiction - 448 pages
0 Reviews

Duelling, derring-do, and dastardly deeds are all in a day’s work for Liberty Lane: the plucky heroine for fans of Georgette Heyer and Sarah Waters’s Victorian novels.

London. Summer 1839. And the temperature is rising as Liberty Lane takes on her strangest case yet.

Deranged aristocrat Lord Brinkburn is nearing death and his elder son, Stephen, is expecting to inherit the title. But Lady Brinkburn's sudden announcement that Stephen is illegitimate throws the family into turmoil. Tensions reach boiling point between the two brothers, one of whom stands to gain everything, and they come to blows in public - much to the amusement of London Society.

Liberty is engaged privately to get to the truth of the matter, but a macabre murder raises the stakes considerably...added to which she finds her own judgement being undermined by the beguiling ways of Lady Brinkburn. She is only too aware that time is running out - one of the brothers may be next, but which will it be...?

 

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.

Contents

PROLOGUE
CHAPTER ONE
CHAPTER TWO
CHAPTER THREE
CHAPTER FOUR
CHAPTER FIVE
CHAPTER SIX
CHAPTER SEVEN
CHAPTER FIFTEEN
CHAPTER SIXTEEN
CHAPTER SEVENTEEN
CHAPTER EIGHTEEN
CHAPTER NINETEEN
CHAPTER TWENTY
CHAPTER TWENTYONE
CHAPTER TWENTYTWO

CHAPTER EIGHT
CHAPTER NINE
CHAPTER TEN
CHAPTER ELEVEN
CHAPTER TWELVE
CHAPTER THIRTEEN
CHAPTER FOURTEEN
CHAPTER TWENTYTHREE
CHAPTER TWENTYFOUR
CHAPTER TWENTYFIVE
CHAPTER TWENTYSIX
CHAPTER TWENTYSEVEN
A CORPSE IN SHINING ARMOUR
Copyright

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2009)

Caro Peacock grew up in a farmhouse that, for most of her childhood, contained half a dozen brothers, sisters and cousins, twice as many cats and dogs, no central heating and one bathroom that stopped working every time the spring that supplied it silted up. This possibly bred the habit of curling up in a quiet place with a book and, later, a passion for travel that led to a rather disrupted education. Somewhere along the line, she acquired a great interest in Victorian history – which she considers a much misunderstood period – and particularly the part played in it by independently-minded women. Caro rides horses, climbs, trampolines and spends some time every year studying wild flowers in the Alps.

Bibliographic information