A Crowning Mercy

Front Cover
HarperCollins, 2003 - Dorset (England) - 565 pages
4 Reviews
The young girl Dorcas had one gift left for her by her unknown father - a pendant made of gold, and at its base was a seal engraved with an axe and the words: St Matthew. So when she flees before the unbearable, worthy suitor who is forced upon her after her forbidden meeting with a stranger she fell in love with (who called her "Campion") she hopes to find her father, and her lover. But to claim her inheritance and find again her summer love, she must follow the course her father's legacy charts for her.

What people are saying - Write a review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - christinejoseph - LibraryThing

17th c. Puritan England - Dorcas Slythe - "Campion" + Toby - covenant +seals Enemies all want seal - very good. In mid seventeenth-century England, the nation was in upheaval. In the Dorset ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - PhilSyphe - LibraryThing

Set during the 1640s when King Charles I of England was at war with his own people, this story follows the up and downs of a beautiful woman with an ugly name: Dorcas Slythe. Not surprisingly, when ... Read full review

Other editions - View all

About the author (2003)

Bernard Cornwell was born in London, England, on February 23, 1944, and came to the United States in 1980. He received a B.A. from the University of London in 1967. Cornwell served as producer of the British Broadcasting Corporation from 1969-1976. After this he was head of current affairs for BBC-TV in Belfast, Northern Ireland. In 1979 he became editor of television news for Thames Television of London. Since 1980 he has been a freelance writer. he lives with his wife on Cape Cod. Cornwell's Sharpe series, adventure stories about a British soldier set in the Peninsula War of 1808-1814, are built on the author's interest in the Duke of Wellington's army. Titles include Sharpe's Rifles, Sharpe's Revenge, Sharpe's Siege, Sharpe's Regiment, and Sharpe's Waterloo. He has also written other works including Wildtrack, Killer's Wake, Sea Lord, Stormchild, Rebel, Copperhead, and Battle Flag. His title Death of Kings made The New York Times Best Seller List in 2012 and In 2014 his title The Pagan Lord made the list again.

Bibliographic information