A Dangerous Fortune

Front Cover
Island Books, 1993 - Fiction - 568 pages
3 Reviews
"Political and amorous intrigues, cold-blooded murders and financial crises...old-fashioned entertainment!" -- "San Francisco Chronicle."

In 1866, tragedy strikes at the exclusive Windfield School. A young student drowns in a mysterious accident involving a small circle of boys. The drowning and its aftermath initiates a spiraling circle of treachery that will span three decades and entwine many loves. . . From the exclusive men's club and brothels that cater to every dark desire of London's upper classes to the dazzling ballrooms and mahogany-paneled suites of the manipulators of the world's wealth, Ken Follett conjures up a stunning array of contrasts. This breathtaking novel portrays a family splintered by lust, bound by a shared legacy. . . men and women swept toward a perilous climax where greed, fed by the shocking truth of a boy's death, must be stopped, or not just one man's dreams, but those of a nation, will die. . .

"Breathlessly plotted. . . relentlessly suspensenseful." -- "The New York Times."

"Gripping, complex plot . . sexual intrigue. . . fascinating characters. . . you won't be able to put down this exciting page-turner!" -- "Lexington Herald-Leader."

What people are saying - Write a review

A Dangerous Fortune

User Review  - abatwestern - Overstock.com

I thought this book was fantastic! So far I have read Pillars of the Earth Eye of the Needle and this book. All three keep you going back to read a couple pages when you have five minutes to relax. If you like to fight for the underdog than this is the book for you. Read full review

Awesome book

User Review  - readingisfun - Overstock.com

This is an awesome book. I was hard for me to put down when I started reading. Ken Follett is so adroit in interwining love and hatre romantism and mystery. This is third book of Follett that I have ... Read full review

Other editions - View all

About the author (1993)

Ken Follett was born in Wales on June 5, 1949. He received an Honours degree in philosophy from University College, London. He began his career as a newspaper reporter for the South Wales Echo and later with the London Evening News. He decided to switch to publishing and worked for a small London publishing house, Everest Books, eventually becoming Deputy Managing Director. His first bestselling novel, Eye of the Needle, won the Edgar Award. His other works include The Key to Rebecca, Lay Down with Lions, The Pillars of the Earth, The Third Twin, The Hammer of Eden, Code to Zero, Whiteout, World Without End, The Century Trilogy and Fall of Giants. Many of his novels have been adapted into films and television miniseries. He has won numerous awards including the Corine Prize in 2003 for Jackdaws. In 2013 his title, Winter of the World, made The New York Times Best Seller List.

Bibliographic information