A Girl Named Disaster

Front Cover
Puffin Books, 1998 - Juvenile Fiction - 309 pages
20 Reviews
Nhamo's mother is dead, and her father is gone. She is a virtual slave in her small African village. Before her twelfth birthday, Nhamo learns that she must marry a cruel man with three other wives and decides desperately to run away. Alone on the river, in a stolen boat, she is swept into the uncharted heart of a great lake. There, she battles drowning, starvation, and wild animals, and comes to know Africa's mystical, luminous spirits. Nancy Farmer's masterful storytelling makes this a truly spellbinding novel and readers will be cheering for Nhamo from beginning to end. A gripping adventure, equally a survival story and a spiritual voyage. Nhamo is a stunning creation while she serves as a fictional ambassador from a foreign culture, she is supremely human. An unforgettable work.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - alexann - LibraryThing

Finally getting around to reading this classic by Nancy Farmer. I was eager because Nancy is such a wonderful writer, and her knowledge of Africa and its customs is extensive. Plus, this book won just ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - Rebecca. - LibraryThing

This book draws you into the story of Nhamo, a girl who is mistreated by her own family. She runs away after her family arrange a marriage for her to a man many years older than she is. Nancy Farmer explores the culture of Africa, and uses African beliefs and way of life to illustrate the story. Read full review

All 6 reviews »



40 other sections not shown

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

References to this book

All Book Search results »

About the author (1998)

Nancy Farmer has written three Newbery Honor books: "The Ear, the Eye and the Arm"; "A Girl Named Disaster"; and "The House of the Scorpion", which, in 2002, also won the National Book Award and the Printz Honor. Other books include "The Sea of Trolls", "The Land of the Silver Apples", "The Islands of the Blessed", "Do You Know Me", "The Warm Place", and three picture books for young children. She grew up on the Arizona-Mexico border and now lives with her family in the Chiricahua Mountains of Arizona.

Bibliographic information