A Group of Noble Dames

Front Cover
The Floating Press, Jul 1, 2011 - Fiction - 237 pages
1 Review
Whether you're a long-time fan of Thomas Hardy's works or a first-time reader who is curious about the author of such masterpieces as Tess of the d'Urbervilles and Far From the Madding Crowd, this collection of short stories offers a gratifying introduction to the renowned British naturalist's literary talent.

What people are saying - Write a review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - gypsysmom - LibraryThing

I quite enjoyed this group of short stories with the common theme of the lives and loves of upper class women. Some of the situations these women got into seem incredibly modern i.e. children ... Read full review


Dame the FirstThe First Countess of Wessex
Dame the SecondBarbara of the House of Grebe
Dame the ThirdThe Marchioness of Stonehenge
Dame the FourthLady Mottisfont
Dame the FifthThe Lady Icenway
Dame the SixthSquire Petricks Lady
Dame the SeventhAnna Lady Baxby
Dame the EighthThe Lady Penelope
Dame the NinthThe Duchess of Hamptonshire
Dame the TenthThe Honourable Laura

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2011)

Thomas Hardy was born on June 2, 1840, in Higher Bockhampton, England. The eldest child of Thomas and Jemima, Hardy studied Latin, French, and architecture in school. He also became an avid reader. Upon graduation, Hardy traveled to London to work as an architect's assistant under the guidance of Arthur Bloomfield. He also began writing poetry. How I Built Myself a House, Hardy's first professional article, was published in 1865. Two years later, while still working in the architecture field, Hardy wrote the unpublished novel The Poor Man and the Lady. During the next five years, Hardy penned Desperate Remedies, Under the Greenwood Tree, and A Pair of Blue Eyes. In 1873, Hardy decided it was time to relinquish his architecture career and concentrate on writing full-time. In September 1874, his first book as a full-time author, Far from the Madding Crowd, appeared serially. After publishing more than two dozen novels, one of the last being Tess of the d'Urbervilles, Hardy returned to writing poetry--his first love. Hardy's volumes of poetry include Poems of the Past and Present, The Dynasts: Part One, Two, and Three, Time's Laughingstocks, and The Famous Tragedy of the Queen of Cornwall. From 1833 until his death, Hardy lived in Dorchester, England. His house, Max Gate, was designed by Hardy, who also supervised its construction. Hardy died on January 11, 1928. His ashes are buried in Poet's Corner at Westminster Abbey.

Bibliographic information