A Matter Of Blood: The Dog-Faced Gods Book One

Front Cover
Orion, Mar 25, 2010 - Fiction - 488 pages

The recession has left the world exhausted. Crime is rising; financial institutions across the world have collapsed, and most governments are now in debt to The Bank, a company created by the world's wealthiest men.

But Detective Inspector Cass Jones has enough on his plate without worrying about the world at large. His marriage is crumbling, he's haunted by the deeds of his past, and he's got the high-profile shooting of two schoolboys to solve - not to mention tracking down a serial killer who calls himself the Man of Flies.

Then Cass Jones' personal world is thrown into disarray when his brother shoots his own wife and child before committing suicide - leaving Cass implicated in their deaths. And when he starts seeing silent visions of his dead brother, it's time for the suspended DI to go on the hunt himself - only to discover that all three cases are linked ...

As Jones is forced to examine his own family history, three questions keep reappearing: what disturbed his brother so badly in his final few weeks? Who are the shadowy people behind The Bank? And, most importantly, what do they want with DI Cass Jones?

What people are saying - Write a review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - CSDaley - LibraryThing

I have been waiting to read this until I new the next two books were going to be released in the U.S. Now I wish I had waited until they were all released because waiting to see how the story is going ... Read full review


User Review  - Kirkus

A serial killer, marital strife and a family tragedy dog a London cop in a police procedural that hits all the marks—and then some.Pinborough opens by setting out the classic elements of a police ... Read full review

Other editions - View all

About the author (2010)

Sarah Pinborough lives in Milton Keynes where she works as a full time, award-winning, writer and script-writer. Her published work, almost all of which is optioned for TV or film adaptation, includes the stunning novella The Language of Dying, THE DOG FACED GODS series, THE HIDDEN KINGDOM series, THE NOWHERE CHRONICLES (as Sarah Silverwood) and two standalone novels: The Death House and 13 Minutes.

For more information visit www.sarahpinborough.com, or follow @SarahPinborough on twitter.

Bibliographic information