A Primate's Memoir: A Neuroscientist's Unconventional Life Among the Baboons

Front Cover
Simon and Schuster, Nov 1, 2007 - Nature - 304 pages
5 Reviews
In the tradition of Jane Goodall and Dian Fossey, Robert Sapolsky, a foremost science writer and recipient of a MacArthur Genius Grant, tells the mesmerizing story of his twenty-one years in remote Kenya with a troop of Savannah baboons.

“I had never planned to become a savanna baboon when I grew up; instead, I had always assumed I would become a mountain gorilla,” writes Robert Sapolsky in this witty and riveting chronicle of a scientist’s coming-of-age in remote Africa.

An exhilarating account of Sapolsky’s twenty-one-year study of a troop of rambunctious baboons in Kenya, A Primate’s Memoir interweaves serious scientific observations with wry commentary about the challenges and pleasures of living in the wilds of the Serengeti—for man and beast alike. Over two decades, Sapolsky survives culinary atrocities, gunpoint encounters, and a surreal kidnapping, while witnessing the encroachment of the tourist mentality on the farthest vestiges of unspoiled Africa. As he conducts unprecedented physiological research on wild primates, he becomes evermore enamored of his subjects—unique and compelling characters in their own right—and he returns to them summer after summer, until tragedy finally prevents him.

By turns hilarious and poignant, A Primate’s Memoir is a magnum opus from one of our foremost science writers.
 

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
3
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
0

A PrimatesMemoir

User Review  - gabc - Overstock.com

FirstI had CDs by Robert Sapolsky Neurphysiologist and I enjoyed them somuch I bought his book. He made clear the difference between shortterm stress which is a necessary part of life and long term ... Read full review

A primate's memoir

User Review  - Not Available - Book Verdict

Sapolsky (The Trouble with Testosterone), a professor of biology and neurology at Stanford and a research associate with the Institute of Primate Research at the National Museum of Kenya, focuses on ... Read full review

All 4 reviews »

Contents

Acknowledgments
9
Saul in the Wilderness
95
Samwelly Versus the Elephants
105
The First Masai
117
The Coup
127
Hearing Voices at the Wrong Time
135
Tenuous Adulthood
167
The Unstable Years
169
The Elevator
213
The Mound Behind the 7Eleven
219
Nick
233
The Raid
243
Ice
249
Joseph
255
The Blind Leading the Blind
259
Whos on First Whats on Second
263

Ol Curly Toes and the King of NubianJudea
177
The Penguins of Guyana
187
When Baboons Were Falling Out of the Trees
197
The Old White Man
209
The Last Warriors
269
The Plague
275
105
278
Copyright

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

References to this book

All Book Search results »

About the author (2007)

Robert M. Sapolsky is the author of several works of nonfiction, including A Primate's Memoir, The Trouble with Testosterone, and Why Zebras Don't Get Ulcers. He is a professor of biology and neurology at Stanford University and the recipient of a MacArthur Foundation genius grant. He lives in San Francisco.

Bibliographic information