A Whole New Mind: Moving from the Information Age to the Conceptual Age

Front Cover
Riverhead Books, 2005 - Business & Economics - 260 pages
New York Times Bestseller

An exciting--and encouraging--exploration of creativity from the author of When: The Scientific Secrets of Perfect Timing

Lawyers. Accountants. Radiologists. Software engineers. That's what our parents encouraged us to become when we grew up. But Mom and Dad were wrong. The future belongs to a very different kind of person with a very different kind of mind. The era of "left brain" dominance, and the Information Age that it engendered, are giving way to a new world in which "right brain" qualities-inventiveness, empathy, meaning-predominate. That's the argument at the center of this provocative and original book, which uses the two sides of our brains as a metaphor for understanding the contours of our times.

In the tradition of Emotional Intelligence and Now, Discover Your Strengths, Daniel H. Pink offers a fresh look at what it takes to excel. A Whole New Mind reveals the six essential aptitudes on which professional success and personal fulfillment now depend, and includes a series of hands-on exercises culled from experts around the world to help readers sharpen the necessary abilities. This book will change not only how we see the world but how we experience it as well.

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
19
4 stars
11
3 stars
7
2 stars
4
1 star
2

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - Razinha - LibraryThing

This is one of those squishy, fuzzy books that pushes a supposed earth-shattering idea but doesn't quite back it up. More's the pity, for I really liked - and embraced - the concepts of Pink's later ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - abbeyhar - LibraryThing

Read for consulting class. More like 3.5 stars. Although I take slight issue with the slant of the book (how to compete with foreigners, to whom our jobs are being outsourced), there is a decent ... Read full review

All 5 reviews »

Other editions - View all

About the author (2005)

Daniel H. Pink is the author of five books, including To Sell Is Human and the long-running New York Times bestsellers A Whole New Mind and Drive. His books have been translated into thirty-three languages and have sold more than a million copies in the United States alone. Pink lives with his family in Washington, D.C.

Bibliographic information