A dance at the slaughterhouse: a Matthew Scudder novel

Front Cover
Morrow, 1991 - Fiction - 309 pages
2 Reviews
In A Dance at the Slaughterhouse, private investigator Matthew Scudder is on the hunt for the rapist and killer of rich, beautiful Amanda Thurman. But when a snuff film involving a young homeless boy is discovered, the case becomes terrifyingly twisted. Somehow Scudder and his girlfriend Elaine must find the connection between the the two crimes and set a trap for the killer. From the Edgar Award-winning author of A Ticket to the Boneyard.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

A dance at the slaughterhouse: a Matthew Scudder novel

User Review  - Not Available - Book Verdict

Unlicensed New York investigator and series protagonist Matthew Scudder seeks to determine if a cable television producer raped and murdered his own wealthy wife. At the same time, Scudder hunts for a ... Read full review

Review: A Dance At The Slaughterhouse (Matthew Scudder #9)

User Review  - jim - Goodreads

Block won the Edgar Award for this edition of the Matthew Scudder series and to date remains the best. Read full review


Section 1
Section 2
Section 3

18 other sections not shown

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (1991)

Lawrence Block is the author of the popular series' featuring Bernie Rhodenbarr, Matthew Scudder, and Chip Harrison. Over 2 million copies of Lawrence Block's books are in print. He has published articles and short fiction in American Heritage, Redbook, Playboy, GQ, and The New York Times, and has published several collections of short fiction in book form, most recently Collected Mystery Stories. Block is a Grand Master of Mystery Writers of America. He has won the Edgar and Shamus awards four times, the Japanese Maltese Falcon award twice, as well as the Nero Wolfe award. In France, he was proclaimed a Grand Maitre du Roman Noir and has been awarded the Societe 813 trophy twice. Block was presented with the key to the city of Muncie, Indiana, and is a past president of the Private Eye Writers of America and the Mystery Writers of America.

Bibliographic information