A dangerous fortune

Front Cover
Island Books, Nov 1, 1994 - Fiction - 576 pages
3 Reviews
In 1866, tragedy strikes at the  exclusive Windfield School. A young student drowns  in a mysterious accident involving a small circle  of boys. The drowning and its aftermath initiates a  spiraling circle of treachery that will span three  decades and entwine many loves... From the  exclusive men's club and brothels that cater to every  dark desire of London's upper classes to the dazzling  ballrooms and mahogany-paneled suites of the  manipulators of the world's wealth, Ken Follett  conjures up a stunning array of contrasts. This  breathtaking novel portrays a family splintered by lust,  bound by a shared legacy... men and women swept  toward a perilous climax where greed, fed by the  shocking truth of a boy's death, must be stopped, or  not just one man's dreams, but those of a nation,  will die...

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

A Dangerous Fortune

User Review  - abatwestern - Overstock.com

I thought this book was fantastic! So far I have read Pillars of the Earth Eye of the Needle and this book. All three keep you going back to read a couple pages when you have five minutes to relax. If you like to fight for the underdog than this is the book for you. Read full review

Awesome book

User Review  - readingisfun - Overstock.com

This is an awesome book. I was hard for me to put down when I started reading. Ken Follett is so adroit in interwining love and hatre romantism and mystery. This is third book of Follett that I have ... Read full review


Section 1
Section 2
Section 3

31 other sections not shown

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (1994)

Ken Follett was born in Wales on June 5, 1949. He received an Honours degree in philosophy from University College, London. He began his career as a newspaper reporter for the South Wales Echo and later with the London Evening News. He decided to switch to publishing and worked for a small London publishing house, Everest Books, eventually becoming Deputy Managing Director. His first bestselling novel, Eye of the Needle, won the Edgar Award. His other works include The Key to Rebecca, Lay Down with Lions, The Pillars of the Earth, The Third Twin, The Hammer of Eden, Code to Zero, Whiteout, World Without End, The Century Trilogy and Fall of Giants. Many of his novels have been adapted into films and television miniseries. He has won numerous awards including the Corine Prize in 2003 for Jackdaws and the Olaguibel Prize by the Colegio Oficial de Arquitectos Vasco-Navarro for contributing to the promotion and awareness of architecture in 2008.

Bibliographic information