A Mummy Awakens: The Pharaonic Fiction of Naguib Mahfouz

Front Cover
University of Pennsylvania, 2008 - 393 pages
1 Review
Entombed within this expansive oeuvre is a small---and, until recently, largely neglected---body of works set in, or using devices from, the age of the Pharaohs. His first published book was a translation of a young readers' guide to ancient Egypt, and his first three published novels were inspired by classic tales and events from the 4th, 6th, 17th and 18th Dynasties. Like the vengeful ghost in one of his early short stories, " Yaqz&dotbelow;at al-mumiya'" ("The Mummy Awakens," 1939), Mahfouz's use of Egypt's often-glamorized past to write about its more problematic present was briefly revived with two book-length works in the 1980s. The technique also recurs in Mahfouz's final series of extremely short works, Ah&dotbelow;lam fatrat al-naqahah (Dreams of the Period of Recovery (2000-2006)), as well as in references to pharaonic themes and imagery scattered throughout his fiction.

What people are saying - Write a review

User Review - Flag as inappropriate

A Mummy Awakens: The Pharaonic Fiction of Naguib Mahfouz
Raymond T. Stock - 2008 - 393 pages
Najib Mah&dotbelow;fuz&dotbelow; (henceforth Naguib Mahfouz, 1911-2006), who became the first Arab writer to win the Nobel Prize in literature in 1988, is best known for his fiction set in his native Egypt (mainly Cairo and Alexandria) in the 20th century. In a career spanning more than seven decades, he published approximately sixty books, encompassing a broad array of fictional styles and genres.
No preview available - About this book - Add to my library

Bibliographic information