A Swiftly Tilting Planet

Front Cover
Dell, 1979 - Juvenile Fiction - 256 pages
5 Reviews
In this companion volume to A Wrinkle In  Time (Newbery Award winner) and  A Wind In The Door fifteen-year-old  Charles Wallace and the unicorn Gaudior undertake a  perilous journey through time in a desperate  attempt to stop the destruction of the world by the  mad dictator Madog Branzillo. They are not alone in  their quest. Charles Wallace's sister, Meg--grown  and expecting her first child, but still able to  enter her brother's thoughts and emotions by  "kything"--goes with him in  spirit.

But in overcoming the challenges, Charles  Wallace must face the ultimate test of his faith and  will, as he is sent within four people from  another time, there to search for a way to avert the  tragedy threatening them all.

"L'Engle's  gifts are at their most impressive here." --  Publisher's Weekly

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Person indwelling other beings; confusing

User Review  - Mrs V - Christianbook.com

After my teenage daughter stopped reading the first book because of scriptural problems, I as her mother decided to investigate this series to see why they were recommended. I found a lot of ... Read full review

Review: #3: A Swiftly Tilting Planet

User Review  - Kristen - Christianbook.com

Like all the magnificent Time Quintet books, A Swiftly Tilting Planet is jewel in the crown of imaginative literature. A closer look at a previously unsympathetic character is both fascinating and ... Read full review



9 other sections not shown

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

References to this book

All Book Search results »

About the author (1979)

Madeleine L'Engle is the author of many acclaimed and popular books for children and adults, including novels, collections of essays, plays, and poetry. She is perhaps best known for the Newbery Award winner A Wrinkle in Time and its companions, A Wind in the Door, A Swiftly Tilting Planet, and Many Waters. She has also written An Acceptable Time, which follows the further adventures of the Murry family. A Ring of Endless Light, featuring Vicky Austin, was a Newbery Honor Book. Other books in the Austin series are Meet the Austins, The Moon by Night, The Young Unicorns, and Troubling a Star. Madeleine L'Engle is also the recipient of the Margaret A. Edwards Award, which honors her lifetime contribution to books for young adults. Madeleine L'Engle lives and works in New York City.

Bibliographic information