Acacia: The Acacia Trilogy, Book One

Front Cover
Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group, Aug 26, 2008 - Fiction - 768 pages
26 Reviews

“David Anthony Durham has serious chops. I can’t wait to read whatever he writes next."
—George R. R. Martin

Welcome to Acacia . . .
Born into generations of prosperity, the four royal children of the Akaran dynasty know little of the world outside their opulent island paradise. But when an assassin strikes at the heart of their power, their lives are changed forever.
Forced to flee to distant corners and separated against their will, the children must navigate a web of hidden allegiances, ancient magic, foreign invaders, and illicit trade that will challenge their very notion of who they are. As they come to understand their true purpose in life, the fate of the world lies in their hands.


What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - RoseCrossed - LibraryThing

This book is a bit slow at first, but well worth sticking with. We get to know each of the four children of the Akaran family and watch them grow. There is lots of politicos and political intrigue in ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - bharris05 - LibraryThing

***Early book spoiler*** A very good read and well worth the price. David Durham tells a fantastic story about 4 royal siblings who are torn about when their kingdom is taken over. Each is thrown to ... Read full review


The Kings Izlyll
Book Three

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2008)

David Anthony Durham received the 2009 John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer of Science Fiction for Acacia and The Other Lands (the first two volumes of the Acacia Trilogy). Author of the historical novels Gabriel’s Story, Walk Through Darkness, and Pride of Carthage, he was handpicked by George R. R. Martin to write for his Wild Cards series of collaborative novels.

Bibliographic information