African American music: a chronology : 1619-1995

Front Cover
Ikoro Communications, 1995 - Music - 444 pages
0 Reviews
AFRICAN AMERICAN MUSIC, A CHRONOLOGY, 1619-1995, is a memorable, entertaining compendium of musical information which traces the evolution of African American music & musicians from the African roots through the experience of enslavement to the present. Presented in a manner that is accessible to both musicians & non-musicians, this inspiring volume highlights the rare & the popular facts about black musical heritage, aligning them with social, cultural, technological & political events that influence the artists & musicians. Among the special features: * The identification of the genres that have been created by African American musicians, including spirituals, gospel, minstrelsy, ragtime, country, classic & urban blues, jazz, rhythm & blues, disco & rap. * An introduction to the many African American instrumentalists, vocalists, composers, arrangers & conductors who create & perform both within the genres of African American music & the genres not typically identified with African American cultural evolution. * The identification of important compositions & recordings. * Chapters that open with decade-by-decade overview of the musical trends. * Comprehensive index & bibliography. Cover design based upon The Griot & Sticks paintings by Synthia Saint James. To order: Ikoro Communications, Inc., P.O. Box 7390, Culver City, CA 90233, (310) 649-0372, FAX (310) 649-2758.

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.


Cultural Revolution
Contemporary Griots

Other editions - View all

Bibliographic information