After the Darkest Hour: How Suffering Begins the Journey to Wisdom

Front Cover
Macmillan, Sep 11, 2000 - Psychology - 274 pages
0 Reviews
In the tradition of When Bad Things Happen to Good People, a book that explains the transformative power of suffering

Most people understand that suffering and sorrow are inevitable parts of every life and that illness, death, or loss of a loved one are universal experiences, not retribution or a symptom of bad luck. But few of us comprehend the ways in which suffering can give rise to growth.
In this sensitive and caring book, Kathleen Brehony describes the experiences of people who have endured life's trials and consequently found deeper spiritual and psychological meaning in their lives. Drawing on a rich selection of mythological and religious stories from many faiths, Berhony provides a historical and cultural context that enriches the meaning of these deeply personal tales.
After the Darkest Hour explores the qualities--psychological, behavioral, and spiritual--of those who have turned periods of pain and suffering into opportunities for growth and renewal. The final chapters offer exercises that will help readers approach the difficult situations they face in a more conscious, enlightened way, as well as specific suggestions for creating personal healing rituals.

What people are saying - Write a review

After the darkest hour: how suffering begins the journey to wisdom

User Review  - Not Available - Book Verdict

Psychotherapist Brehony has written a thoughtful, upbeat book that stresses that we will all suffer, that we can't avoid it, and that to do so well will ultimately enrich our lives. With many ... Read full review


PART TWO A Dozen Strategies for Growing Through the Pain
Conclusion Living in the Guest House

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2000)

Kathleen Brehony, Ph.D., is a Jungian-oriented psychotherapist, personal coach, and public speaker who has delivered hundreds of keynote addresses, workshops, and training sessions. She is the author ofAwakening at Midlife andOrdinary Grace. She divides her time between Virginia and California.

Bibliographic information