After the First Death

Front Cover
Dell Pub., 1991 - Juvenile Fiction - 233 pages
6 Reviews
1. This novel is told from multiple points of view. Why do you think Cormier has chosen this type of narration? 2. Why does Artkin say it is necessary for Miro to 'bury' his real name forever? Are Miro and Artkin burying anything else? 3. Which characters do you sympathize with and why? Do you have a clear-cut sense of right and wrong at the end of this novel? 4. What role does the notion of 'manhood' serve? Why does Miro want to achieve this status so badly? Miro thinks that Kate is trying to manipulate him when she says 'it's sad not to trust anyone.' Why does Miro have to shut this statement out of his mind? 5. How does a concept of duty (to Artkin, to his nation) affect Miro's conception of self, of individuality? How does duty affect the general and his actions in regard to his son? Why does he volunteer his son for the mission? 6. Betrayal is a prominent theme throughout the novel. Do you think the general betrayed his son? Who else betrays or is betrayed? How and why? How does this betrayal compare to the betrayals that happen in the other three books (Carter and Archie, Goober and Jerry, Brother Leon and Caroni, Adam and the government).

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - engpunk77 - LibraryThing

WAS a classroom book (left from a previous teacher), but I don't see any point in keeping it in my grade 7/8 library. Way too much for that age level, I think. This one wasn't nearly as good as any of ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - br13jadu - LibraryThing

After The First Death authored by Robert Cormier is a story about a camp bus that gets hijacked by a group of terrorists that consist of Miro, Artkin, and Antibbe. The terrorists want the worst for ... Read full review

Selected pages


Section 1
Section 2
Section 3
Section 4
Section 5
Section 6
Section 7
Section 8
Section 9
Section 10
Section 11
Section 12

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (1991)

Robert Cormier (1925-2000) changed the face of young adult literature over the course of his illustrious career. His many books include The Chocolate War, I Am the Cheese, Fade, Tenderness, After the First Death, Heroes, Frenchtown Summer, and The Rag and Bone Shop. In 1991 he received the Margaret A. Edwards Award, honoring his lifetime contribution to writing for teens.

Bibliographic information