Al volver la esquina

Front Cover
Destino, 2004 - Fiction - 283 pages

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.


Section 1
Section 2
Section 3

3 other sections not shown

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2004)

Carmen Laforet (1921-2004) had a profound impact on Spanish literature. Her debut novel, "Nada," was awarded the first Premio Nadal in 1944. She is also wrote a collection of short stories and five other novels, including "Al doblar la esquina (Around the Block)" and "La mujer nueva (The New Woman)," which won Spain's National Prize for Literature in 1955.
Edith Grossman is the distinguished translator of works by many other Spanish and Latin American writers, including Miguel de Cervantes, Gabriel Garcia Marquez, Mario Vargas Llosa, and Alvaro Mutis. She is the recipient of two Translation of the Year awards from the American Literary Translators Association, and the 2006 PEN Ralph Manheim Medal for Translation. She lives in New York City.
Mario Vargas Llosa is one of Latin America's preeminent fiction writers and essayists. His novels include "The Feast of the Goat, The Notebooks of Don Rigoberto," and "Aunt Julia and the Scriptwriter,"

"From the Hardcover edition.

Bibliographic information