Alexander Skutch: An Appreciation

Front Cover
Hunter Lewis
Axios Press, Jan 1, 2007 - Nature - 293 pages
In addition to being one of the most prolific nature writers of our time and the world's greatest expert on Central American birds, Alexander Skutch was an inspiring moral philosopher and original thinker in the tradition of Henry David Thoreau and John Muir. Alexander Skutch: Selected Writings of an American Naturalist include selections from Skutch's writing spanning his 70 years of contributions to ornithology, travel, nature and philosophy.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.

Contents

Naturalist
12
From THE IMPERATIVE CALL 1979
47
From NATURALIST ON A TROPICAL FARM 1980
101
Copyright

8 other sections not shown

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2007)

Hunter Lewis is co-founder of AgainstCronyCapitalism.org. He is co-founder and former CEO of global investment firm Cambridge Associates, LLC and author of 9 books on moral philosophy, psychology, and economics, including the widely acclaimed Are the Rich Necessary? ("Highly provocative and highly pleasurable."-New York Times) He has contributed to the New York Times, the Times of London, the Washington Post, and the Atlantic Monthly, as well as numerous websites such as Breitbart.com, Forbes.com, Fox.com, and RealClearMarkets.com. His most recent books are Crony Capitalism in America: 2008-2012; Free Prices Now! Fixing the Economy by Abolishing the Fed; and Where Keynes Went Wrong: And Why Governments Keep Creating Inflation, Bubbles, and Busts. He has served on boards and committees of fifteen leading not-for-profit organizations, including environmental, teaching, research, and cultural and global development organizations, as well as the World Bank.

Bibliographic information