Alice in April

Front Cover
Bantam Doubleday Dell Books for Young Readers, 1995 - Families - 164 pages
3 Reviews
When Alice's aunt Sally reminds her that she'll soon be thirteen and the Woman of the House, Alice starts to worry. She's always thought that her father and her older brother, Lester, were there to take care of her. Now it's up to her to plan her father's fiftieth birthday party. And tell everyone to get a physical. But that means Alice herself will have to disrobe at the doctor's! Then ther's the latest crisis at school, where the boys have begun to match each girl with the name of a state, according to its geography--mountains or no mountains! Alice is back, this time caught between her desire to be a perfect housekeeper & her fascination with her developing body.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - larasimmons2 - LibraryThing

Alice, a 12 year old approaching her 13th birthday, is beginning to fear the responsibility that comes with becoming a teenager. Her Aunt Sally provides Alice with advice on how she can become the ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - stephxsu - LibraryThing

Alice is almost thirteen, and, according to her Aunt Sally, that means she is almost the Woman of the House. This Alice interprets to be a catalyst for change of some kind. First, she insists that ... Read full review


One Woman of the House
Three Aprils Fool
Seven Looking Ahead

6 other sections not shown

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (1995)

Phyllis Reynolds Naylor was born in Anderson, Indiana on January 4, 1933. She received a bachelor's degree from American University in 1963. Her first children's book, The Galloping Goat and Other Stories, was published in 1965. She has written more than 135 children and young adult books including Witch's Sister, The Witch Returns, The Bodies in the Bessledorf Hotel, A String of Chances, The Keeper, Walker's Crossing, Bernie Magruder and the Bats in the Belfry, Please Do Feed the Bears, and The Agony of Alice, which was the first book in the Alice series. She has received several awards including the Edgar Allan Poe Award for Night Cry and the Newberry Award for Shiloh.

Bibliographic information