All the Pretty Horses

Front Cover
Vintage Books, 1993 - Fiction - 301 pages
Now a major motion picture from Columbia Pictures starring Matt Damon, produced by Mike Nichols, and directed by Billy Bob Thornton.

The national bestseller and the first volume in Cormac McCarthy's Border Trilogy, All the Pretty Horses is the tale of John Grady Cole, who at sixteen finds himself at the end of a long line of Texas ranchers, cut off from the only life he has ever imagined for himself. With two companions, he sets off for Mexico on a sometimes idyllic, sometimes comic journey to a place where dreams are paid for in blood. Winner of the National Book Award for Fiction.

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - TimBazzett -

I've been hearing about Cormac McCarthy for years now, but somehow managed NOT to read him until now. ALL THE PRETTY HORSES has sat on my shelf for a dozen years or more, and now I've read it. With ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - Daniel.Estes -

Brilliant writing with an consonant, immersive dialog, but I'm guessing that unless you're already a fan of other authors like William Faulkner or Thomas Wolfe, i.e. writers with a heavily measured ... Read full review

All 4 reviews »

Other editions - View all

About the author (1993)

Cormac McCarthy was born in Rhode Island in 1933 and spent most of his childhood near Knoxville, Tennessee. He served in the U.S. Air Force and later studied at the University of Tennessee. In 1976 he moved to El Paso, Texas, where he lives today. McCarthy's fiction parallels his movement from the Southeast to the West--the first four novels being set in Tennessee, the last three in the Southwest and Mexico. The Orchard Keeper (1965) won the Faulkner Award for a first novel; it was followed by Outer Dark (1968), Child of God (1973), Suttree (1979), Blood Meridian (1985), and All the Pretty Horses, which won both the National Book Critics Circle Award and the National Book Award for fiction in 1992.

Bibliographic information