Always Another Country: A Memoir of Exile and Home

Front Cover
Text Publishing Company, Jul 30, 2018 - Biography & Autobiography - 320 pages
0 Reviews
• A frank, fierce and insightful memoir of a young girl’s path to womanhood, via many homes
• From her stateless childhood in Zambia and Kenya and her college years in North America, to her return to South Africa in the euphoric 1990s and her adult life in Australia, Sisonke Msimang’s memoir is a candid and moving story of survival told through a global lens
• With razor-sharp insight, Sisonke untangles the threads of race, class and gender so prominent in the fabric of her own life, all the way from the ugly face of racism in apartheid South Africa to the xenophobia of her newfound home in Perth
• Deeply personal, Always Another Country is a moving portrait of Sisonke’s own life journey and all the romance, heartache and grief that has helped to make her the writer, activist, mother and woman she is today
• Uncompromising, angry and hopeful, Sisonke represents a bold new voice on feminism, race and politics, in the tradition of Arundhati Roy, Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie and Maxine Beneba Clarke
• Sisonke is well known in the Australian writing community, having previously appeared at various literary festivals and events. Her TED Talk on storytelling has been viewed over 1 million times
Always Another Country will be the subject of a major publicity and marketing campaign in ANZ and will be published simultaneously with the US and UK editions. Bound proofs are available and Sisonke will be appearing at the Leading Edge Booksellers Conference in March 2018

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.

Other editions - View all

About the author (2018)

Sisonke Msimang was born in exile to South African parents—a freedom fighter and an accountant—and raised in Zambia, Kenya and Canada before studying in the US as an undergraduate. Her family returned to South Africa after apartheid was abolished in the early 1990s.

Sisonke has held fellowships at Yale University, the Aspen Institute and the University of the Witwatersrand in Johannesburg, and is a regular contributor to the Guardian, Daily Maverick and New York Times. She now lives in Perth, Australia, where she is head of oral storytelling at the Centre for Stories.


Bibliographic information