Always Unreliable: Memoirs

Front Cover
Pan Macmillan, Dec 13, 2012 - Biography & Autobiography - 560 pages

Always Unreliable is the collected first three volumes of Clive James's eloquently witty autobiographies, Unreliable Memoirs, Falling Towards England and May Week Was in June.

In Unreliable Memoirs we meet the young Clive James – dressed in shorts and growing up in post-war Sydney. With Falling Towards England, we find Clive living in a Swiss Cottage B&B, where he practises the Twist, anticipates poetical masterpieces he’s yet to compose, and worries about his wardrobe. Finally, May Week Was In June sees Clive at Cambridge University, where he enthusiastically involves himself in college life (generally female lives) until May Week – not only in June but also a fortnight long – when he gets married.

The rest, of course, is history . . .

What people are saying - Write a review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - JonArnold - LibraryThing

Clive James’ first three volumes of memoir collected into one book. It takes us from his boyhood in Kogarah to his eventual graduation from Cambridge. As you’d expect from James, it’s peppered with insight, witty bon mots and quotable lines and built on a foundation of solid self-deprecation. Read full review

Other editions - View all

About the author (2012)

Clive James is the author of more than forty books. As well as five volumes of autobiography, he has published verse, such as his Collected Poems and Sentenced to Life, and novels, collections of essays, literary criticism, television criticism and travel writing. As a television performer he has appeared regularly for both the BBC and ITV, most notably as writer and presenter of the Postcard series of travel documentaries. In 1992 he was made a Member of the Order of Australia.

Bibliographic information