Amelia Dee and the Peacock Lamp

Front Cover
Allen & Unwin, Oct 1, 2007 - Juvenile Fiction - 240 pages
2 Reviews
Amelia Dee lives in the green house on Marburg Street, where a rare bronze lamp hangs outside her bedroom door. No one knows where it came from or how it got there. Only she, Amelia thinks, knows the secret that the lamp contains. Bu she's wrong.

When Mr Vishwanath introduces Amelia to the Princess Parvin Kha-Douri, the puzzle of the lamp becomes even deeper. Where has the princess seen it before? Why is she so bitter and angry? And most importantly, what should Amelia do about it?

In solving the mystery, Amelia risks revealing a secret of her own.

Odo Hirsch is at his enchanting best in this funny, poignant story full of memorable characters and resonant ideas. Fans of Antonio S and Hazel Green will love Amelia Dee.

'I have only 6 words for this book: Best book I have ever read!' - Inez, 12

What people are saying - Write a review

Amelia Dee and the Peacock Lamp

User Review  - Thorpe-Bowker and Contributors - Books+Publishing

Odo Hirsch's latest novel takes us into the world of Amelia Dee, a young girl in the suburbs with an extraordinary neighbour-yoga Master L K Vishwanath. The action begins as Amelia's curiosity about ... Read full review

User Review - Flag as inappropriate

It is a great book, it is very catchy. There should have been more twist in the plot.

Other editions - View all

About the author (2007)

Odo Hirsch was born in Australia where he studied medicine and worked as a doctor. He is now based in London. His books for children are favourites with young and old and have been translated into several languages.

Bibliographic information