Amsterdam Condensed

Front Cover
Vintage, 1998 - Composers - 178 pages
1 Review
On a chilly February day two old friends meet in the throng outside acrematorium to pay their last respects to Molly Lane. Both Clive Linleyand Vernon Halliday had been Molly's lovers in the days before theyreached their current eminence, Clive as Britain

What people are saying - Write a review


User Review  - Not Available - Book Verdict

Funerals are dreary enough affairs, but Molly's is particularly unpleasant; her former lovers hover like vultures, ready to tear one another apart. Thanks to Molly--or rather to Molly's stuffy husband ... Read full review

Other editions - View all

About the author (1998)

Ian McEwan is a critically acclaimed author of short stories and novels for adults, as well as The Daydreamer, a children's novel illustrated by Anthony Browne. His first published work, a collection of short stories, First Love, Last Rites, won the Somerset Maugham Award. His novels include The Child in Time, which won the 1987 Whitbread Novel of the Year Award, The Cement Garden, Enduring Love, Amsterdam, which won the 1998 Booker Prize, Atonement, Saturday, On Chesil Beach, Solar, Sweet Tooth and The Children Act.

Bibliographic information