An Enchantment of Ravens

Front Cover
Simon and Schuster, Sep 26, 2017 - Juvenile Fiction - 300 pages
An instant New York Times bestseller!
An Indie Next Top 10 Pick
A Parents’ Choice Silver Honor Winner

“A funny, action-packed, and sweet romance.” —School Library Journal (starred review)
“A phenomenal read.” —RT Book Reviews

A skilled painter must stand up to the ancient power of the faerie courts—even as she falls in love with a faerie prince—in this gorgeous bestseller that’s “an ideal pick for fans of Holly Black, Maggie Stiefvater, and Laini Taylor” (Publishers Weekly, starred review).

Isobel is an artistic prodigy with a dangerous set of clients: the sinister fair folk, immortal creatures who cannot bake bread or put a pen to paper without crumbling to dust. They crave human Craft with a terrible thirst, and Isobel’s paintings are highly prized. But when she receives her first royal patron—Rook, the autumn prince—she makes a terrible mistake. She paints mortal sorrow in his eyes—a weakness that could cost him his life.

Furious, Rook spirits her away to his kingdom to stand trial for her crime. But something is seriously wrong in his world, and they are attacked from every side. With Isobel and Rook depending on each other for survival, their alliance blossoms into trust, then love—and that love violates the fair folks’ ruthless laws. Now both of their lives are forfeit, unless Isobel can use her skill as an artist to fight the fairy courts. Because secretly, her Craft represents a threat the fair folk have never faced in all the millennia of their unchanging lives: for the first time, her portraits have the power to make them feel.
 

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
5
4 stars
5
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
0

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - Tikimoof - LibraryThing

Strangely, I loved everything but Isobel's actual declaration of love. I wasn't paying attention to the prose until the climactic battle and then realized how lovely it was. It met all my requirements for fairy-tale romance! Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - thinktink93 - LibraryThing

"I'd always scoffed at stories in which maidens pine for their absent suitors, boys they've hardly known a week and have no business falling for. Didn't they realize their lives were worth more than ... Read full review

Contents

Section 1
1
Section 2
6
Section 3
7
Section 4
23
Section 5
38
Section 6
39
Section 7
53
Section 8
54
Section 20
170
Section 21
171
Section 22
183
Section 23
192
Section 24
193
Section 25
208
Section 26
221
Section 27
222

Section 9
70
Section 10
85
Section 11
86
Section 12
98
Section 13
112
Section 14
113
Section 15
126
Section 16
139
Section 17
140
Section 18
155
Section 19
156
Section 28
233
Section 29
244
Section 30
254
Section 31
255
Section 32
266
Section 33
267
Section 34
279
Section 35
295
Section 36
297
Copyright

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2017)

Margaret Rogerson is the author of the New York Times bestsellers An Enchantment of Ravens, Sorcery of Thorns, and Vespertine. She has a bachelor's degree in cultural anthropology from Miami University. When not reading or writing she enjoys sketching, gaming, making pudding, and watching more documentaries than is socially acceptable (according to some). She lives near Cincinnati, Ohio, beside a garden full of hummingbirds and roses. Visit her at MargaretRogerson.com.