Ancient airs and dances: & other works for solo piano

Front Cover
Courier Corporation, 2006 - Music - 63 pages
0 Reviews
In addition to his skills as a violinist and composer, Ottorino Respighi (1879-1936) was a musicologist and a dedicated scholar of Italian music of the sixteenth through eighteenth centuries. Respighi's interest in the works of Monteverdi, Vivaldi, and other composers was expressed in his own creations, which have come to be regarded as typical examples of Neoclassicism.
This unique collection spotlights the original piano version of the very popular title piece, Ancient Airs and Dances (Antiche Danze ed Arie). Well-known as an orchestral work based on Renaissance lute pieces by Simone Molinaro, Vincenzo Galilei (father of Galileo Galilei), and additional anonymous composers, this enchanting suite can now be enjoyed at home. Additional features--Six Pieces for Solo Piano and Three Preludes on Gregorian Melodies--highlight other early and lesser-known pieces that offer glimpses of Respighi's distinctive and beautiful interpretations of Neoclassicism.

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.

Bibliographic information