Arabian Sands

Front Cover
Penguin, 1991 - Travel - 347 pages
12 Reviews
The record of his extraordinary journeys through the parched 'Empty Quarter' of Arabia. 'Wilfred Thesiger is perhaps the last, and certainly one of the greatest, of the British travellers among the Arabs . . . The narrative is vividly written, with a thousand little anecdotes and touches which bring back to any who have seen these countries every scene with the colour of real life' - Sir John Glubb in the Sunday Times. 'Following worthily in the tradition of Burton, Doughty, Lawrence, Philby and Thomas, it is, very likely, the book about Arabia to end all books about Arabia' - Lord Kinross in the Daily Telegraph.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
7
4 stars
5
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - JBreedlove - LibraryThing

Five years spent in southern Arabia, Yemen and Oman are chronicled by Thesiger. Classic British travelogue by another Brit not comfortable being one. But a great look at the quantumm leap the Arabs ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - overthemoon - LibraryThing

Thesiger found his deep-down nomad soul when he explored the Empty Quarter with the Bedu. I wish he had not included the sentence "I shot 70 lions" but overall his writing is beautiful and fills me ... Read full review

Contents

Abyssinia and the Sudan
17
Prelude in Dhaufar
39
The Sands of Ghanim
54
Copyright

17 other sections not shown

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

References to this book

All Book Search results »

About the author (1991)

Thesiger is a writer, explorer and naturalist. He is a legendary figure forever associated with the mystique and magnificence of the Arabian Sands.

Bibliographic information