Are You My Husband?: I Can Find Him All by Myself

Front Cover
Universe Publishing, 2004 - Humor - 48 pages
0 Reviews
A charming parody of P.D. Eastman's beloved 1960 children's classic, Are You My Mother?,
Are You My Husband? follows the adventures of Little Chick, who wakes up one day to discover she is thirty-horrors!-and-even worse-still single. Greatly concerned about her "eggs," Little Chick embarks on a quest to find a husband. Her search takes her from swing-dancing class (where all the guys are practicing for their weddings) to her high school reunion (where she remembers why she didn't meet her husband there in the first place), from the Internet (where she fails a Prince fan's mysterious lyrics test) to AA (where her self-esteem just isn't low enough). She even tries the oh-so-gorgeous guy at the gym, but it turns out he's looking for a husband, too.

Ultimately, Little Chick comes to realize that love, like life, has to happen on its own timetable, and until it does, maybe being single isn't so bad after all.

In the tradition of Looking for Mr. Right and Even God is Single So Stop Giving Me a Hard Time, this newest bit of chick lit is the perfect anti-Valentine for any woman who's been asked one too many times, "So, when are YOU getting married?"

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.

Contents

Section 1
10
Section 2
11
Section 3
20
Copyright

3 other sections not shown

About the author (2004)

Rachel Carpenter's nonfiction, humorous and otherwise, has appeared in outlets as varied as Martha Stewart Weddings, NPR, and mcsweeneys.net. Her fiction has run in several literary magazines, including theatlantic.com and One Story, and has been read on the BBC. A native of Philadelphia, she is currently at work on a novel. She lives in New York.

Bibliographic information