Arnie and Jack: Palmer, Nicklaus, and Golf's Greatest Rivalry

Front Cover
Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, Apr 8, 2009 - Sports & Recreation - 368 pages
1 Review
Surprisingly, one of sport’s most contentious, complex, and defining clashes played out not in the boxing ring or at the line of scrimmage but on the genteel green fairways of the world’s finest golf courses. Arnie and Jack. Palmer and Nicklaus. Their fifty-year duel, in both the clubhouse and the boardroom, propelled each to the status of American icon and pushed modern golf to the heights and popularity it enjoys today.

Arnie was the cowboy, with rugged good looks, Popeye-like forearms, a flailing swing, and charm enough to win fans worldwide. Jack was scientific, precise, conservative, aloof, even fat and awkward. Ultimately, Nicklaus got the better of Palmer on the course, beating him in major victories 18-7. But Palmer bested Nicklaus almost everywhere else, especially in the hearts of the public and in endorsement dollars. By the end of this page-turning narrative, we see that each man wanted what the other had: Arnold wanted the trophies. Jack wanted the love.

In the tradition of John Feinstein and Mark Frost, Ian O’Connor has written a compelling account of one of the greatest rivalries in sports history.
 

What people are saying - Write a review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - gmillar - LibraryThing

This is a good book especially if you are a golf nut. It is extremely well written and discusses all the points of real interest to us as hero-worshippers of two of the real "greats". I particularly ... Read full review

Arnie & Jack: Palmer, Nicklaus, and golf's greatest rivalry

User Review  - Not Available - Book Verdict

Sports columnist O'Connor (The Jump: Sebastian Telfair and the High Stakes Business of High School Ball) examines what may be the longest-running rivalry in sports history. While both Arnold Palmer ... Read full review

Contents

Photo Section
159
Part II
160
Part III
241
Back Matter
317
Copyright

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2009)

IAN O'CONNOR is a nationally recognized sports columnist who has won numerous Associated Press awards. Currently he writes for ESPNNewYork.com and hosts a radio show for ESPN.  He is the author of Arnie and Jack, a New York Times bestseller, and The Jump.

Bibliographic information