Arnold Schoenberg Letters

Front Cover
University of California Press, Jan 1, 1987 - Music - 309 pages
Background notes about each stage of his life and career, accompany Schoenberg's letters to artists, intellectuals, and fellow composers

What people are saying - Write a review

User Review - Flag as inappropriate

This book was an excellent resource to learn about serial composition and Schoenberg's life between Kammersymphonien and his commitment to twelve tone, serial and dissonant compositions. This was a helpful contribution to source materials for a thesis, and I made sure to carry it during my visit to the Arnold Schoenberg center in Vienna, Austria. 


Editors Introduction page
Translators Preface
Vienna Berlin Vienna 19101918
Berlin Barcelona 19261933 115
France America 19331944
Los Angeles 19451951
Vienna 19091910
Index of Correspondents

Common terms and phrases

About the author (1987)

An American of Austrian birth, Arnold Schoenberg composed initially in a highly developed romantic style but eventually turned to painting and expressionism. At first he was influenced by Richard Wagner and tried to write in a Wagnerian style. He attracted the attention of Alban Berg and Anton von Webern, with whom he created a new compositional method based on using all 12 half-steps in each octave as an organizing principle, the so-called 12-tone technique. His importance to the development of twentieth-century music is incredible, but the music he composed using this new method is not easily accessible to most concertgoers.

Bibliographic information