Art in the Blood: Crime Novelists Discuss Their Craft

Front Cover
F+W Media, Aug 1, 2011 - Literary Criticism - 232 pages
2 Reviews

James Ellroy, Dan Brown, Ian Rankin, George Pelacanoes, Ken Bruen, Michael Connelly, Ridley Pearson . . . the roster of writers interviewed in these pages includes those who have won Edgar, Shamus, Anthony and Macavity awards. The interviews were conducted in person, or by phone, or both. Significantly, none of the interviews were placed before the authors for approval, massaging or tweaking of answers. The interviews were recorded on tape and are presented without rejuxtaposition or revision on the part of the novelists. This is how the writers spoke, what they said, casually, candidly and, more importantly, on the fly.

What people are saying - Write a review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - clothingoptional - LibraryThing

Five stars. If you're into crime writing and you want to get into the heads of the best crime writers today, get this book. Incredible interviews. Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - swl - LibraryThing

In the foreward, Ken Bruen calls CM "the finest Mystery interviewer/profiler in them there United States." Ken Bruen is so effusively, publicly loyal to his friends that it's easy to dismiss a comment ... Read full review

Other editions - View all

About the author (2011)

Ken Bruen was born in 1951 in Galway, Ireland. He was educated at Gormanston College, Meath and later at Trinity College Dublin where he earned a PhD. in metaphysics. He spent 25 years as an English teacher in Africa, Japan, Asia and South America. Ken Bruen's works include the well reeived White Trilogy and a book entitled The Guards, which won a Shamus Award .He also edited an anthology of stories set in Dublin entitled Dublin Noir. His writing speciality is crime fiction. Some of his other works include The Killing of the Tinkers, The Magdalen Martyrs, and The Dramatist and Priest, which was nominated for the 2008 Edgar Allan Poe Award for Best Novel. Ken Bruen is also the recipient of the first David Loeb Gooodis Award in 2008 for his dedication to his art.

Bibliographic information