Assorted Fire Events: Stories

Front Cover
Macmillan, Oct 2, 2012 - Fiction - 192 pages
1 Review
Upon its publication, Assorted Fire Events won a Los Angeles Times Book Prize, was nominated for a National Book Critics Circle Award, and received tremendous critical praise. Ranging across America, taking in a breathtaking array of voices and experiences, this story collection now stands as one of the finest of our time.

What people are saying - Write a review

Assorted fire events: stories

User Review  - Not Available - Book Verdict

A child drowns after falling into a hidden creek through collapsing concrete. A hobo hangs on for dear life between freight cars. A dying man is so annoyed by another patient's grieving relatives that ... Read full review


Railroad Incident August 1995 Coitus
What They Did
Sleeping Bear Lament
The Reaction
The Grip
Hope For
The Widow Predicament
The Gesture Hunter
Assorted Fire Events
The Woodcutter

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2012)

David Means was born and raised in Michigan. His second collection of stories, Assorted Fire Events, earned the Los Angles Times Book Prize for fiction and a National Book Critics Circle nomination. His third book, The Secret Goldfish, received widespread critical acclaim and was shortlisted for the Frank O'Connor International Short Story Prize. His fourth book, The Spot, was selected as a 2010 Notable Book by The New York Times, and won an O. Henry Prize. His books have been translated into eight languages, and his fiction has appeared The New Yorker, Harper's Magazine, Esquire, Zoetrope, The Best American Short Stories, The Best American Mystery Stories, The O. Henry Prize Stories, and numerous other publications. He lives in Nyack, New York, and teaches at Vassar College.

Bibliographic information