Avaryan Resplendent

Front Cover
Macmillan, Dec 19, 2003 - Fiction - 832 pages
0 Reviews
Avaryan Resplendent
Arrows of the Sun
The Spear of Heaven
The Tides of Darkness

Here in a single volume is the second trilogy of Judith Tarr’s novels about the world of Avaryan, and the Sun God’s children who rule it.

The Sunborn's heirs have ruled the two empires for four generations, but the newest Emperor of Endros and Asanion does not sit easily. The Golden Palace is full of plot and intrigue, and conspirators who plan to kill Estarion, as they killed his father, and take the throne for their own.

The Emperor Estarion’s willful granddaughter, and heir to the throne, has wheedled permission to travel with the Master of the Mage Guild to a high mountain kingdom at the end of the chain of World Gates. But once inside the Kingdom of Heaven, mere magery will meet its match. The power of the Sun Lords will be needed counter the Breaker of Gates.

A chill wave of dark sorcery sweeps across a thousand worlds, turning souls without number into mute, blind slaves. In a desperate attempt to halt the shadow's relentless spread, the Sunborn’s heir must join her formidable powers with those of a wild and untrained young mage who has stolen her heart.

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.

Selected pages



Common terms and phrases

About the author (2003)

Judith Tarr is the author of more than twenty widely praised novels, including The Throne of Isis, White Mare's Daughter, and Queen of Swords, as well as five previous volumes in the Avaryan Chronicles: The Hall of the Mountain King, The Lady of Han-Gilen and A Fall of Princes (collected in one volume as Avaryan Rising), Arrows of the Sun, and Spear of Heaven. A graduate of Yale and Cambridge University, Judith Tarr holds degrees in ancient and medieval history, and breeds Lipizzan horses at Dancing Horse Farm, her home in Vail, Arizona.

Bibliographic information