Baal

Front Cover
Arcade Pub., 1998 - Drama - 86 pages
BAAL, which renowned playwright Bertolt Brecht (1898-1956) wrote when he was in college, is the provocative story of a drunken, ruthless, womanizing poet and singer, a desperate antihero in the tradition of Villon and Rimbaud. The NEW YORK TIMES called the first American production strong stuff, both horrible and fascinating.

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - jonfaith - www.librarything.com

This wasn’t what I had expected. This is a bizarre tale of a charismatic roustabout, think Andy Griffith as Lonesome Roads. He swims in an endless ocean of brandy, his stupor affords him the carnal ... Read full review

Common terms and phrases

About the author (1998)

Bertolt Brecht was born on February 10, 1898 in Augsburg, Bavaria, and died on August 14, 1956. He was a German playwright, theatre director and Marxist. The modest house where he was born is today preserved as a Brecht Museum. Brecht formed a writing collective which became prolific and very influential. He wrote many lyrics for musicals and collaborated with Kurt Weill to create Die Dregroschenoper -- the biggest hit in 1920s Berlin. Brecht experimented with his own theater and company -- the Berliner Ensemble -- which put on his plays under his direction and which continued after his death with the assistance of his wife. Brecht aspired to create political theater, and it is difficult to evaluate his work in purely aesthetic terms. Brecht died in 1956.

Bibliographic information