Bad Glass

Front Cover
Random House Publishing Group, Sep 25, 2012 - Fiction - 432 pages
3 Reviews
One of the most hauntingly original dark fantasy debuts in years—perfect for fans of Lost and Mark Danielewski’s cult classic, House of Leaves.
 
Something has happened in Spokane. The military has evacuated the city and locked it down. Even so, disturbing rumors and images seep out, finding their way onto the Internet, spreading curiosity, skepticism, and panic. For what they show is—or should be—impossible: strange creatures that cannot exist, sudden disappearances that violate the laws of physics, human bodies fused with inanimate objects, trapped yet still half alive. . . .
 
Dean Walker, an aspiring photographer, sneaks into the quarantined city in search of fame. What he finds will change him in unimaginable ways. Hooking up with a group of outcasts led by a beautiful young woman named Taylor, Dean embarks on a journey into the heart of a mystery whose philosophical implications are as terrifying as its physical manifestations. Even as he falls in love with Taylor—a woman as damaged and seductive as the city itself—his already tenuous hold on reality starts to come loose. Or perhaps it is Spokane’s grip on the world that is coming undone.
 
Now, caught up in a web of interlacing secrets and betrayals, Dean, Taylor, and their friends must make their way through this ever-shifting maze of a city, a city that is actively hunting them down, herding them toward a shocking destiny.


From the Trade Paperback edition.
 

What people are saying - Write a review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - lesindy - LibraryThing

This book was a huge disappointment. It started off with a great premise, but it became a disjointed mess quickly. You never find out what the hell happened to the characters or even what was behind the happenings. A total let-down of a book. Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - DeweyEver - LibraryThing

seems like it's trying to have a Blair Witch Project home movie kind of feel. I gave it 78 pages and disliked all the characters and nothing much was happening so did not finish. Read full review

Contents

Section 1
3
Section 2
6
Section 3
8
Section 4
18
Section 5
36
Section 6
52
Section 7
76
Section 8
91
Section 18
230
Section 19
243
Section 20
260
Section 21
272
Section 22
289
Section 23
305
Section 24
325
Section 25
341

Section 9
108
Section 10
124
Section 11
146
Section 12
147
Section 13
158
Section 14
161
Section 15
169
Section 16
186
Section 17
204
Section 26
357
Section 27
393
Section 28
400
Section 29
402
Section 30
409
Section 31
413
Section 32
415
Section 33
417
Copyright

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2012)

Richard E. Gropp lives on a mountain outside of Seattle with his partner of fifteen years. It is a small mountain. He studied literature and psychology at the University of California, Santa Cruz, and has worked as a bookstore clerk, a forklift driver, and an accountant. He has a hard time spelling the word broccoli, and in his spare time he dabbles in photography and cooking.

Bibliographic information