Baggage: An unputdownable thriller about digging up the past

Front Cover
Headline, Nov 11, 2010 - Fiction - 300 pages
0 Reviews

Too much to take? Just leave it all behind...

British travel writer and novelist Emily Barr transports readers to the Australian outback in Baggage, an unputdownable thriller about leaving it all behind. Perfect for fans of Ruth Ware and Lisa Jewell.

'Mixing girly infighting with insightful travellers' observations and the joys of motherhood, Barr certainly knows how to spin a yarn' - Guardian

At eighteen, your closest friend commits suicide. At twenty-nine, you're backpacking in the Australian outback when you see her. She has a husband. She has a ten-year-old son. She has a baby on the way. She claims to be someone else. But you'd recognise her anywhere.

Back in England you tell your journalist boyfriend. While he never knew her, he always knew of her - her name is Daisy Fraser and she was awaiting trial over the deaths of four people when she jumped off the Severn Bridge.

He thinks: This could be the scoop of the century. He says: Happy Christmas - I'm taking you to Australia to find Daisy.

What readers are saying about Baggage:

'Gripping from start to finish and oh-so-credible'

'Truly brilliant read and one I couldn't put down'

'Another cracking novel with clever writing and fab characters... I was reading way into the night!'

What people are saying - Write a review

We haven't found any reviews in the usual places.

Other editions - View all

About the author (2010)

Emily Barr is the well-loved and bestselling author of Backpack, the original backpacking novel, and many other highly acclaimed novels. A former journalist, she has travelled around the world and written columns and travel pieces for the Observer and the Guardian. After living in France, Emily and her husband (whom she met backpacking) have settled in Cornwall with their three children. You can learn more about Emily and her novels by visiting her website www.emilybarr.com.

Bibliographic information