Beautiful Darkness

Front Cover
Little, Brown Books for Young Readers, Oct 12, 2010 - Young Adult Fiction - 512 pages
The second book in the New York Times bestselling series, perfect for fans of Cassandra Clare and Maggie Stiefvater!
Ethan Wate used to think of Gatlin, the small Southern town he had always called home, as a place where nothing ever changed. Then he met mysterious newcomer Lena Duchannes, who revealed a secret world that had been hidden in plain sight all along. A Gatlin that harbored ancient secrets beneath its moss-covered oaks and cracked sidewalks. A Gatlin where a curse has marked Lena's family of powerful Supernaturals for generations. A Gatlin where impossible, magical, life-altering events happen.

Sometimes life-ending.

Together they can face anything Gatlin throws at them, but after suffering a tragic loss, Lena starts to pull away, keeping secrets that test their relationship. And now that Ethan's eyes have been opened to the darker side of Gatlin, there's no going back. Haunted by strange visions only he can see, Ethan is pulled deeper into his town's tangled history and finds himself caught up in the dangerous network of underground passageways endlessly crisscrossing the South, where nothing is as it seems.
 

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
16
4 stars
6
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
0

BEAUTIFUL DARKNESS

User Review  - Kirkus

This second volume in the trilogy that started with Beautiful Creatures (2009) opens in the aftermath of magic Caster Lena Duchannes's climactic 16th birthday. Mourning the uncle who died in the fight ... Read full review

Beautiful Darkness Review

User Review  - TheBookshelfSophisticate - Borders

When I tried to formulate my review for this book I was torn, and I kind of still am. I'm a big fan of Garcia and Stohl's writing and enjoyed the first installment in the Caster Chronicles series ... Read full review

All 12 reviews »

Contents

I
II
III
IV
V
VI
VII
VIII
XXIV
XXV
XXVI
XXVII
XXVIII
XXIX
XXX
XXXI

IX
X
XI
XII
XIII
XIV
XV
XVI
XVII
XVIII
XIX
XX
XXI
XXII
XXIII
XXXII
XXXIII
XXXIV
XXXV
XXXVI
XXXVII
XXXVIII
XXXIX
XL
XLI
XLII
XLIII
XLIV
Copyright

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2010)

Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl live in Los Angeles, California, with their families. Beautiful Darkness is the sequel to their debut novel, Beautiful Creatures.

Bibliographic information