Ben Jonson - Plays - Complete Collection -, Svazek 1

Přední strana obálky
Pomona Press, 1. 1. 2006 - Počet stran: 668
0 Recenze
Google recenze neověřuje, ale kontroluje a odstraňuje podvodný obsah, pokud je identifikován
This edition of Ben Jonson's Plays is complete in two volumes. This is Volume One. Contents: Vol 1: Cynthia's Revels (1600) Epicoene (1609) Every Man in His Humour, first version (1598) second version (1601) Every Man out of His Humour (1599) The Poetaster (1601) Sejanus (1603) Vulpine (1605). At the end of each volume is a glossary.Keywords: Bartholomew Fair Every Man Humour Sejanus Sad Shepherd Ben Jonson Magnetic Lady Vulpine Revels Alchemist Staple Cynthia Vol 1 Conspiracy Devil Glossary

Co říkají ostatní - Napsat recenzi

Na obvyklých místech jsme nenalezli žádné recenze.

O autorovi (2006)

Born in 1572, Ben Jonson rejected his father's bricklaying trade and ran away from his apprenticeship to join the army. He returned to England in 1592, working as an actor and playwright. In 1598, he was tried for murder after killing another actor in a duel, and was briefly imprisoned. One of his first plays, Every Man Out of His Humor (1599) had fellow playwright William Shakespeare as a cast member. His success grew with such works as Volpone (1605) and The Alchemist (1610) and he was popular at court, frequently writing the Christmas masque. He is considered a very fine Elizabethan poet. In some anti-Stratfordian circles he is proposed as the true author of Shakespeare's plays, though this view is not widely accepted. Jonson was appointed London historian in 1628, but that same year, his life took a downward turn. He suffered a paralyzing stroke and lost favor at court after an argument with architect Inigo Jones and the death of King James I. Ben Jonson died on August 6, 1637.

Bibliografické údaje