Beneath a Scarlet Sky: A Novel

Front Cover
Lake Union Publishing, 2017 - Germany - 513 pages

Soon to be a major television event from Pascal Pictures, starring Tom Holland.

Based on the true story of a forgotten hero, the USA Today and #1 Amazon Charts bestseller Beneath a Scarlet Sky is the triumphant, epic tale of one young man's incredible courage and resilience during one of history's darkest hours.

Pino Lella wants nothing to do with the war or the Nazis. He's a normal Italian teenager--obsessed with music, food, and girls--but his days of innocence are numbered. When his family home in Milan is destroyed by Allied bombs, Pino joins an underground railroad helping Jews escape over the Alps, and falls for Anna, a beautiful widow six years his senior.

In an attempt to protect him, Pino's parents force him to enlist as a German soldier--a move they think will keep him out of combat. But after Pino is injured, he is recruited at the tender age of eighteen to become the personal driver for Adolf Hitler's left hand in Italy, General Hans Leyers, one of the Third Reich's most mysterious and powerful commanders.

Now, with the opportunity to spy for the Allies inside the German High Command, Pino endures the horrors of the war and the Nazi occupation by fighting in secret, his courage bolstered by his love for Anna and for the life he dreams they will one day share.

Fans of All the Light We Cannot See, The Nightingale, and Unbroken will enjoy this riveting saga of history, suspense, and love.

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
16
4 stars
11
3 stars
5
2 stars
1
1 star
1

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - lilibrarian - LibraryThing

Based on a true story, a Milanese teenager is sent to boarding school in the Alps to escape the bombing. Reaching the age to be drafted, his parents convince him to sign up for the German army, rather than be drafted into the Italian. Unbeknownst to them, he serves as a spy for the Allies. Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - Beth.Clarke - LibraryThing

Mostly based on facts, I enjoyed this new perspective of WWII from an Italian. I loved the scenes in the mountains and with the priests. The relationship with Anna seemed a bit contrived, but, since ... Read full review

All 5 reviews »

Other editions - View all

About the author (2017)

Mark Sullivan was born and raised in Medfield, Massachusetts, a suburb of Boston. He earned a BA in English from Hamilton College in 1980. After graduating, he served as a volunteer in the Peace Corps returning to the United States in 1982. He then studied at the Medill School of Journalism of Northwestern University in Chicago. He began writing fiction at 30 and his first novel, The Fall Line (1994), was a New York Times Notable Book of the Year. He has co-authored with James Patterson on the novels Private Games, Private Berlin and The Games.

Bibliographic information