Best Music Writing 2007

Front Cover
Robert Christgau, Daphne Carr
Da Capo, 2007 - Literary Collections - 351 pages
2 Reviews
Rappers, rockers, emo-boys, jazz snobs, and poptimists alike eagerly anticipate each edition of Best Music Writing. Returning Series Editor Daphne Carr is joined by a true pioneer of the form, esteemed critic Robert Christgau. Past editions of Best Music Writing have included:Anne Midgette * David Ritz * Dave Eggers * Sasha Frere-Jones * Michaelangelo Matos * Elizabeth Méndez Berry * Alex Ross * Elizabeth Gilbert * Jay McInerney * Lynn Hirschberg * Chuck Klosterman * Sarah Vowell * Nick Tosches * Rosanne Cash * Greil Marcus * Richard Meltzer * Touré * Susan Orlean * Jonathan Lethem * Kate Sullivan * David Hadju * Gary Giddins * Luc Sante * Monica Kendrick * Kelefa Sanneh * and more...

From inside the book

What people are saying - Write a review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - patronus11 - LibraryThing

The eminent "Dean" of Rock Critics takes the helm of the series, and if it's not the best edition yet (Matt Groening's and Mary Gaitskill's outings were also tops), it may be the most fun. Several ... Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - theanalogdivide - LibraryThing

A bit more consistent than the previous year's edition, but that's not necessarily a good thing as the high points weren't as high. Great examination via Will Hermes of the Holly character in the Hold Steady mythos, though. Read full review



3 other sections not shown

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2007)

Robert Christgau is the author of Grown Up All Wrong and Any Old Way You Choose It, among other books. He is also a contributing editor at Rolling Stone and can be heard on NPR’s “All Things Considered.” He lives in New York City. Daphne Carr is the author of Pretty Hate Machine, and her work appears regularly in the Associated Press, Village Voice, Chicago Tribune, and other publications. She lives in Los Angeles.

Bibliographic information