Beyond the Headlines

Front Cover
Oceanview Publishing, May 4, 2021 - Fiction - 336 pages
She was a mega-celebrity—he was a billionaire businessman—now he's dead—she's in jail

Laurie Bateman was living the American dream. Since her arrival as an infant in the U.S. after the fall of Saigon, the pretty Vietnamese girl had gone on to become a supermodel, a successful actress, and, finally, the wife of one of the country's top corporate dealmakers. That dream has now turned into a nightmare when she is arrested for the murder of her wealthy husband.

New York City TV journalist Clare Carlson does an emotional jailhouse interview in which Bateman proclaims her innocence—and becomes a cause celebre for women's rights groups around the country.

At first sympathetic, then increasingly suspicious of Laurie Bateman and her story, Clare delves into a baffling mystery which has roots extending back nearly fifty years to the height of the Vietnam War.

Soon, there are more murders, more victims, and more questions as Clare struggles against dire evil forces to break the biggest story of her life.

Beyond the Headlines is perfect for fans of Robert Crais and Harlan Coben

While all of the novels in the Clare Carlson Mystery Series stand on their own and can be read in any order, the publication sequence is:

Yesterday's News
Below the Fold
The Last Scoop
Beyond the Headlines
 

What people are saying - Write a review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - carole888fort - LibraryThing

Beyond the Headlines by R.G. Belsky is the fourth instalment in the Clare Carlson series but reads well as a stand-alone, although I would be very interested in reading the previous three novels ... Read full review

User Review - Flag as inappropriate

Beyond the Headlines by R.G. Belsky is the fourth instalment in the Clare Carlson series but reads well as a stand-alone, although I would be very interested in reading the previous three novels. Clare Carlson is a news director for a television network in New York City, when her path crosses with Laurie Bateman, whose husband has been found murdered in the couple’s luxurious home. Laurie moved to the U.S. from Saigon when she was an infant and rose to fame as a model and an actress. She was married to a wealthy business man. Because Clare investigates the murder, her research and interview of Laurie clears Laurie’s name and the search is on for who is the murderer. Then more murders and suspicious deaths begin to surface. The action moves from Vietnam fifty years ago to the present-day New York City. This is a fast-moving mystery and the reader is kept guessing, with new leads popping up everywhere. This is a novel well-worth reading and most mystery fans will enjoy it tremendously. Highly recommended. Thank you to Oceanview Publishing, NetGalley and the author for the e-ARC in exchange for an honest review. 

Other editions - View all

Common terms and phrases

About the author (2021)

R. G. Belsky is an author of crime fiction and a journalist in New York City. He has been a top editor at the New York Post, NY Daily News, Star Magazine, and NBC News. Beyond the Headlines is the fourth novel in his award-winning Clare Carlson series, following Yesterday's News, Below the Fold, and The Last Scoop. Belsky resides in New York City.

Bibliographic information